del.icio.us

August 1, 2007 at 12:00 pm 5 comments

I was pleasantly surprised when I wanted to sign up for a new account on delicious today. Let me clarify. I do have one but just that I wanted a different user id and was not too happy with the id I had before.

When the site was trying to verify if I was indeed a human being (and not a robot) :), I was really surprised.

Man.. I could actually read the letters. I dint have to sit straight. I dint have to get closer and get away from the monitor. I dint have to clean up my eyes or doubt that I need to meet an eye doctor.

delicious

thanks del.icio.us. For once a site that was sane in making me feel I am a human being.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

To be or not to be ooo..la.la.la

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. krishashok  |  August 3, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    🙂 Well put. I belong to the same category of people who have trouble understanding most captchas. Blogspot has the worst of all of them.

    You know. They could just show random photos of 10 day to day things and ask us to pick 3 or 4 of them (such as say a duck, teacup and bridge for eg). That will be such a pleasant captcha to use, instead of distorted letters.

  • 2. nitin  |  August 3, 2007 at 8:27 pm

    The only purpose they use this..is to safeguard from malicious sign up programs ..which can eat up all accounts available on a site..

    A program..which can signup on any site with random data..is the biggest threat..

    They have such images to identify bcos a program wud find it difficult to crack the letters and therefore the malicious signup will fail..

  • 3. Siva  |  August 3, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    @krishashok: thanks… you do have some great ideas to get away from this unreadable stuff..
    I hope the webmasters are listening…

    @nitin: I agree we definitely need them Nitin..why make it just unreadable.. the picture above has a background in addition to readable letters.. with such a background it becomes difficult for the robots to pick up..the webmasters have to find some innovative way to get rid of the malicious programs and treat human beings better.. 🙂

  • 4. Anoop  |  August 5, 2007 at 4:52 am

    Nice funda! i mean, never did I get into the roots of finding out what exactly this is used for. Btw, what is the way to stop “Malicious humans” from signing the account? Just a thght… 🙂

  • 5. Siva  |  August 6, 2007 at 12:41 am

    @Anoop: Welcome to my blog.. honestly I do not have an answer to that..I do see krishashok’s suggestion reasonable.. maybe the webmasters need to find something innovative.. 😦

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

RSS Me at Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Onliners

counter
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 26,034 hits

